Invaders players pose after destroying Zara Lions

Invaders Tame Zara Lions

By Paul Drickpaul

April 12, 2019


After struggling to win a game last season Invaders beat Zara Lions on opening day in the NYSCL 2019 season. In what was a beautiful day for cricket. Invaders won the toss and batted first, they made 145 for 7 in 20 overs. Vijesh Manbhode top scored with 50 with other good contributions came from Naipaul Bickram and Paul Drickpaul with 26 and 16 respectively. Arif Yacoob was the pick of the bowlers for Zara Lions with figures of 2 for 16.

Zara Lions started their innings and was in early trouble with Invaders bowlers bowling right on the mark. The Zara Lions batsmen could not handle the pace and when the spinners came on it was even worse as wickets fall regularly. Zara Lions struggled to score runs and were bundled out for a paltry 53 runs. Only Vicky Mallay with 26 reached double figures. Juliano Valladares was the pick of the bowlers for Invaders and finish with 4 for 23 and Rajesh Budram who end the game with a hat- trick in a spell of 3 for 13.

Invaders Captain Paul Valladares collect the division IIB Champions prize from Mr. PK Singh

Indomitable Invaders Send Saturn Back Into Orbit

By Paul Drickpaul

August 27, 2014


Invaders defeated Saturn in a cliffhanger to win the NYSCL Division IIB President Cup competition played on Sunday, August 24th at Baisley Park. Invaders won the toss and put Saturn into bat and in the second over A. Veradin was bowled by a Winston Valladares special for duck.


Vishnu Ramnauth and Budram put on 62 for the second wicket before Budram was caught and bowled by Mahaendra Chan for 18 runs in the 13th over.


After the break, Tribowan came to the wicket and placed some glorious cricket shots. Ramnauth was then dismissed for 20 and Poonsammy joined Tribowan and they both played shots around the wicket. Paul Drickpaul came into the attack and removed both Poonsammy and Tribowan for 29 and 38 respectively.


Saturn were eventually bowled out for 176. Winston Valladares was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 26 while Paul Valladares and Paul Drickpaul had 2 wickets each. Invaders in reply were given a great start by Mahendra Chan 47 and Paul Valladares. They put on 97 before Mahendra Chan was bowled by Khan.


After the water break, Saturn fought back gallantly and picked up 4 quick wickets. Invaders needed 21 runs from the final 3 overs but Cecil Gunraj bowled a maiden over in which he had 2 wickets. With 21 runs required of the final 2 overs, Saturn brought back with their best bowler, Darren Singh to bowl the Penultimate but his first ball was driven superbly over square cover for 6 by R. Budram 11 runs were needed in the final over.


It was then left to final over, the first ball was hit for 4 by R. Budram, with 1 delivery left Invaders needing 2 runs to win. Anand Drickpaul then drove the ball to long-on and they scampered 2 runs to win the championship which sent their supporters into a frenzy. Anand Drickpaul finished with 39 not out and Winston Valladares was named Man of the Match.


Saturn did not show any sportsmanship. They stormed off the field arguing amongst themselves and did not congratulate any of the Invaders' players. This victory was very sweet given the fact that Invaders was given no chance to even make the finals. Congrats Invaders!

Invaders captain Winston Valladares celebrate along with a team supporter after winning the Twenty20 Division IIB Championship

Invaders Finally Triumphant

By Paul Drickpaul

November 13, 2013

It was a cold and blustery Sunday, November 3rd, 2013, when the Invaders Cricket Team faced off against the Falcons for the NYSCL Division IIB Twenty20 finals at Roy Wilkins Park. Invaders won the toss and put Falcons in to bat.

Falcons lost two early wickets which brought Kishan Persaud and Captain Vick Ramnarine together. The pair took Invaders bowlers to task, especially Persaud who was severe on anything short or full. He played shots all around the wicket and was the top scorer with 69 runs before he was bowled by Naipaul Bickram. Ramnarine made 34 runs and with the addition some lusty hitting from the lower order batsman, the Falcons totaled a score of 170 runs for 7 wicket from their allotted 20 overs.

Winston Valladares was the pick of the Invaders bowlers with 4 wickets for 24 runs. Invaders had to score over 8 runs per over under difficult conditions with the sun up and in the batsmen eyes. When Invaders replied, they lost their best and inform batsman Anand Drickpaul in the first over. Roy "Saki" Bourne, then joined Paul Valladares and they batted superbly putting on 54 runs before Bourne was bowled by Vick Ramnaraine for 21 runs.

Paul Drickpaul then joined Paul Valladares and the pair took the score to 85 runs at the halfway mark. At the resumption, Paul Valladares was caught behind for a well played 31 runs which was laced with some lovely pull shots. Invaders needed 51 from the last 5 overs. They reached their target in 18.3 overs with Paul Drickpaul making 44 not out. He played one memorable straight drive which landed on the roof of the bathroom and sent his supporters in to frenzy.

Melroy was the pick of the Falcons bowlers he took 3 wickets for 30 runs. This is one championship Invaders really wanted to win because all of their players are over 45 years old and some of them are even over 50 years old. It doesn't seem possible that the Invaders will reach another final due to the age of their players. Some teams also referred to this team as pensioners. In the end, experience and the will to win saw them home. Congratulations Invaders you thoroughly deserve it.

Invaders ready for 2013 Twenty20 Division IIB Final

Invaders Will Play In Final After 8 Years

By Paul Drickpaul

November 1, 2013


Invaders long wait to reach a final is over; they beat Magnum on last Sunday in the division IIB semi finals to advance. There was a delay before the game start as Magnum fielded some new players from the first time these two teams played on two weeks ago.
Three of the players had different uniforms and when asked to produce their registration, their captain said to call the league because they have the registration. Invaders won the toss and send Magnum to bat. Immediately the batsmen found runs very hard to get as the bowlers continue to bowl very good line and length and was well supported by some very good fielding.
After 10 overs Magnum was 51 for 2. When play resumed after the water break, Magnum compiled a score of 133 for 7 wickets from their 20 overs, Shawn Chedilall top scored with 40.
Invaders began their chase and lost a wicket early but, Anand Drickpaul and Roy Bourne took the bowlers to task and Invaders reached their target in 14 overs for the loss of 5 wickets.
Anand Drickpaul was the top scorer for Invaders with 41 while, Roy Bourne made 17 and M. Chan with 21 not out.
Invaders will now take on Falcons, on Sunday for the division IIB championship. Invaders, who are a long standing member of the NYSCL league, waited 8 years for this opportunity much to the delight of their players and supporters.


Sports unite, create friendship

and togetherness-and all

sports are fun!

Contact Us

516 650 8037


Print Print | Sitemap
© New York Softball Cricket League