SPONSORED BY: Bedessee Imports & Sporting Goods

The winning PM All-Stars team after a big win over Wakefield

Port Mourant All-Stars defeated Wakefield in a ninth-wicket record-breaking partnership

By Richard Singh

July 17, 2019


On July 14, 2019 cricket fans worldwide were treated to the greatest limited-overs match ever played at the home of cricket, Lords. Five thousand, four hundred miles across the Atlantic supporters and players of Port Mourant All-Star (PM All-Stars) and Wakefield were witnesses to another historic, nail-biting achievement.


Displaying incredible resolute and tenacity the pair of Danny Bhikhi and Anil Persaud produced an exhilarating match-winning 75 runs partnership to guide P.M. All-Stars to victory over Wakefield with nearly three overs remaining. Battling exhaustion and 90-degree weather, the pair came together at the fall of the 8th wicket with the score on 99 and their team staring down almost certain defeat.


Both batsmen knew that in order to overcome the challenging score of 172 posted by Wakefield they needed to put together a partnership. They set about carefully negotiating the good balls and then capitalizing on those that were loose. They gleefully accepted singles and took full advantage of the opposition’s mistakes.  As the intensity of the match grew so did Bhikhi and Persaud’s confidence.


Wakefield bowlers were finding it nearly impossible to contain either of the pair and what ensued was an NYSCL record for the 9th wicket. During their partnership, Persaud was more of the aggressor and fittingly sealed the match with a six over square leg, the 8th boundary of his innings, that also led to his personal best score of 50 not out.


Not to be outdone Bhikhi summoned all his years of experience while providing invaluable support and advice to the younger Persaud. His score of 16 not out was a gem of a Captain’s innings containing 2 boundaries and 8 singles. It was an enthralling game of cricket that was played in the truest spirit of the game by both teams and officials. 

Print Print | Sitemap
© New York Softball Cricket League